Sleepy Hollow: A Minor Rant

RIGHT. So. I (and Sara) watched Fox’s Sleepy Hollow on Monday night and we both kind of geeked out a little. Mainly because Tom Mison is amazingly attractive and John Cho was in it.

But this is really more about my experiences with Washington Irving and the actual story of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and my concerns, given that my experiences with Irving’s “Legend of Sleepy Hollow” are varied and long standing.

Now, I grew up reading and watching various versions of Irving’s “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and, apparently

Screen shot of Sleepy Hollow  on Fox

Screen shot of Sleepy Hollow on Fox

falsely, assumed that the tradition continued through today. Mind, I’m 27 and Sara’s 28, so we didn’t actually finish school all that long ago, though it does seem that way. I also wonder if because we grew up not an hour from were Irving died, that it was much more prevalent in our educations.

Just, when it comes to things like “Sleepy Hollow” I tend to be a bit of a weirdo. I LIKE the traditional American folk lore stories.  But, then I also like how people have interpreted them over the years. “Sleepy Hollow” for whatever reason seems to be the most adapted of the lore.

Mainly my concerns revolve around a post on Tumblr I saw after watching the episode. This poster said that they were seriously freaked out when the Headless Horseman came on the screen, because apparently, they weren’t expecting it. I can’t find the post now, but someone was very concerned that the Headless Horseman had no head, but could somehow turn and look at the person talking at them.

And when JOHNNY DEPP is in a movie based on the lore, how is it that people still don’t know the lore? I’m just not even going to touch the deviations Fox made for this newest of adaptations. Mainly because I want to see where they’ll take some of them and I like the snark of this Ichabod.

So, my question here is, SINCE THIS STORY HAS BEEN AROUND FOR 193 YEARS HOW DID YOU NOT KNOW ABOUT THE HEADLESS HORSEMAN??

Honestly! I just don’t understand how something that is so prevalent to me in today’s society was missed.

The plot and story line of the new show has been talked about on various platforms, some I’ve given you below, so I won’t really touch on that.

I just want someone to explain to me why American folk lore and stories have been lost to the younger generation. I don’t understand it and I don’t like it at all.

Make it stop.

❤ Alissa

One thought on “Sleepy Hollow: A Minor Rant

  1. I’ve run into some similar problems with people watching their way very slowly through Sherlock and complaining about spoilers if someone says something. Quite frankly, I think we’re pretty much at the point where these things shouldn’t be spoilers—you’ve had multiple generations of literature to learn about it …

    (And I grew up in a small town called Howell—we didn’t do terribly much with the Legend of Sleepy Hollow in as such, but we did have some local town events every October that came together to be a part of “The Legend of Sleepy Howell,” for the sake of being punny.)

Leave a Reply

